Home       Bass Tournaments     Bass Tournament  Results
Entry Forms   Contact Us    

Wisconsin Bass Classic VIII

Bass Classic Champions 2009
Cory Hauk and Andy Bylander

The well-known hospitality of the Minocqua-Arbor Vitae-Woodruff area again greeted the 60 qualifying teams as they arrived for the Wisconsin Bass Classic-2009.  The staff at our host hotel, The Pointe Resort and Hotel, were accommodating as usual in helping the anglers get settled in their rooms.  As is typical this time of year in northern Wisconsin, the weather was cool and at times wet.  Because of that, The Pointe’s hot tub and sauna were a big hit during this year’s Classic Week.  Another popular item was the waffle machine that accompanied The Pointe’s daily continental breakfast.  Our host tournament site, Albee’s Yacht Club, provided an excellent venue for the prestigious Wisconsin Bass Classic.  The staff was very friendly, their food was excellent and their refreshments cold.  The Minocqua-Arbor Vitae-Woodruff Area Chamber of Commerce did an excellent job of notifying their members we would be in the area and many of them offered the competitors “specials.”

There were also some surprises at the pre-tournament meeting.  We introduced the Wisconsin Bass Classic Circle of Champions.  This display shows the past Classic champions.  Each year the new Classic champions will be added to the display.  A photo of the display is in the 2009 Classic Photo Section on this site.  Skeeter Boat Center presented a Humminbird side-imager to Ed Monette.  Wisconsin Team Circuit competitors who took a ride in a Skeeter boat through-out the season, were eligible for the side-imager.  Chuck Postle was the winner of a Ruger, 308 caliber rifle provided by General Coin and Gun.  Photos of these presentations and other happenings at the Classic can be seen in the Photo Section.

We tried a new format for the Classic this year where all 60 teams fished the Minocqua Chain of Lakes the first 2 days.  After the 2nd day, the Top 24 teams, based on total weight, went into the Championship Bracket and remained of Minocqua for the 3rd day.  The remaining teams went into the Consolation Bracket and fished the 3rd day on Squirrel Lake.  The Consolation Bracket was hosted by Musky Shores Resort.

After 3 days, the team of Cory Hauk and Andy Bylander claimed the honor of Wisconsin Bass Classic-2009 Champions with a 3-day total of 35.30 pounds.  This earned them the WTC check of $6000, plus Cory owns a Skeeter, so he won an additional $1000 of Skeeter Real Money for a grand total of $7000.  The Calcutta Owner of this team was Jamie Gibson.  The 1st place finished netted him $700.  Second Place honors went to the team of DJ Branter and Brian Zinn, with 31.25 pounds.  This finished earned them $4000.  Their Calcutta Owner was John Gubrud, who received $600.  Third Place went to the team of Elmer Winter and Justin Winter, with 31.23 pounds.  They earned $2000 for their efforts.  Their Calcutta Owner was Jared Bauer, who received $500.  Big Bass of the tournament went to the team of Jesse Heinecke and Josh Pingel with a 4.63 pound Largemouth.  This one fish earned them $1170.  Their Calcutta owner was John Gubrud, who received $405.

In the Consolation Bracket, 1st place honors went to the team of Gary Stone and Neil Nelson with a total weight of 11.01 pounds.  They went home with $500 for their Top Team finish in this bracket.  Their Calcutta Owner was John Gubrud, who received $400.  Second Place went to the team of Dave Hermann Jr. and Cliff Hermann with 9.57 pounds.  They earned $450.  Their Calcutta Owner was Mark Rosencranz, who received $350.  Third Place went to the team of Adam Memmer and Justin Rowe.  They earned $400.  Their Calcutta owner was Duane Nelson who received $300.

Wisconsin Bass Classic paid back a total of $26,260 during this 3-day event.

All of the results, paybacks and photos of Wisconsin Bass Classic-2009 can be viewed by clicking on their appropriate links.

Classic VIII Home
Classic Qualifiers
Host Sites

Bass Classic VIII Standings

18 years of providing first class
tournaments in Wisconsin